Norris Receives Governor's Wellness Award

Norris Receives Governor's Wellness Award

Monday, October 21, 2013

Norris Public School is the recipient of the Governor's Wellness Award at the WorkWell Awards Banquet, Wednesday, October 16, 2013. The banquet was at the Cornhusker Marriott Hotel in Lincoln. Norris School District received the Sowers award for a company which has planted the seed for wellness and are on their way to becoming a Grower, demonstrating a mature wellness program with high levels of participation, leadership support and behavior changes.

Governor Dave Heineman spoke to the audience and gave out the awards along with Dr. Joseph Acierno, state's chief medical officer and director of the Division of Public Health in the State of Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. University of Nebraska Men's Basketball Coach Tim Miles spoke at the banquet and reminded members that winning, in whatever kind, starts in your own locker room. Rod Fowler, KLKN Channel 8 News anchor was the emcee. Tonya Vyhlidal, WorkWell Director, and Laurie Klosterboer, Exective Director of Nebraska Safety Council presented special awards.

WorkWell, helps organizations establish quality worksite wellness program. In January 2013, WorkWell became a division of the Nebraska Safety Council. According to the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (HIOSH), research is showing the important benefits of integrating worker health and worker safety. The premise is that a healthier workforce is a safer workforce, and a safer workforce is a healthier workforce.

Norris was among the following recipients of the award: Arbor Day Foundation, David City Public Schools, Dial Retirement Communities, Nebraska Association of Resources Districts, Nemaha NRD, Orthman Manufacturing, Tri-Valley Health System and Upper Elkhorn NRD.

Those attending from Norris and in the photo (left to right) include:
Front Row:
Nikki Knudson
Vicki Carper
Darcie Kvasnicka
Dr. Bob Brandt

Back row:
Mary Jo Rupert
Jane Hansmeyer
Greg Rettele
Jim Craig